RSS

Devo Magix: Recent Shenans

08 May

I’ve written guides on how to do various magix, but I wanted to show some of the various magix bits I’ve been up to lately. Hopefully some of these can be used to give you ideas on some of the things that you could do for your own magix! Spoon Magix I talk a lot about spoons. How to keep them, how to spend them better, how to work with the amount that you have. And recently, I decided that I would magix some spoons for some of my friends in an attempt to help them keep their spoons or gain more spoons. Enter spoon magix! I searched around at local thrift stores for spoons. I didn’t want to buy a whole silverware kit, only to utilize the spoons, and our local Savers has bags of various silverware bits and pieces. And it just so happens that sometimes, they have bags that are nothing but spoons. I hunted around for a nicer quality of silverware- and managed to find some that are actually silver plated. I took them home and washed them the old fashioned way with soap and water. I polished them to the best of my ability with a silver cleaning cloth. I then put some of my special oils on them and put then into a grid setup to soak up juju.

 spoons2

This grid is multiple layers. There are two levels of magixed doilies and in btwn them is a sigil that I created to help bring more go juice to the grid.

spoons3

I let the spoons sit there for about a week. In the meantime, I created pouches for each spoon to go into. The pouch is a two fold method going on- it can be used for other magix, or it can be used to help recharge the spoon. Each pouch was hand made (via sewing machine) with fabrics that I hoped would suit each person. In btwn each layer of fabric is another sigil hand tailored for the person or persons each spoon would be going to. I then finished up each spoon by wrapping it with various ribbon. Another form of knot magix at work.

Spoons

Windchime Magix Wind chime magix is actually something that my non-pagan grandmother taught me about. She told me once that when she was a child in Japan, the locals would hang various things on their furin chimes- which would help to spread word of whatever it was they desired by whomever could hear the chime. Now, I have no clue if this is true- but the idea of using wind chimes as a means of magix is something I’ve grown up with. There was a time when my grandmother was trying to make it selling particular products to people (think Avon or Tupperware)- and in order to get more people interested, she put a piece of paper with the logo of the item she was trying to sell on her wind chime weight. To this day she will also write the names of pets that have passed onto some of the weights of her wind chimes. That way, she will see the names as she walks by every day, and she also feels that their spirit and remembrance of them is kept alive whenever the chime rings. So there is a lot of possibility for magix here. Here is how I went about it recently. I found a furin chime at a local thrift store, but the paper weight at the bottom was missing and the cordage that you hang the wind chime by was completely filled with dry rot from the AZ sun. No worries! I can combine sigil magix and knot/thread magix and create something that is even better! Here are the supplies needed:

string, paper, furin and tape

string, paper, furin and tape

I selected a piece of paper that I wanted to use for the weight. I folded it into a narrower shape, which is typical for furin, and on the inside I wrote my sigil. You could just as easily write in plain English whatever it is you’d like to attract to you, or you could draw a picture- any and all work. I used to write out different stuff a couple times a year and switch out what was hanging as the weight.

The inside of the weight.

The inside of the weight.

Because the weight is folded and taped together, you could even stick herbs or coins or whatever else you wanted inside. But I fold up the paper, tape it closed and cut a small hole for the string to go through. I then take my string (I use multiple strands because AZ is violent towards threads and dry rot is a pain) and braid it up. While braiding, I focus on what I want to achieve. I then attach it to the clapper inside of the bell. And because this chime’s hanging string was all messed up, I do a braid for that as well.

Finished Wind chime

Finished Wind chime

Finished Wind Chime

Finished!

And once its all said and done, I hang it outside so that it can ring and attract what I want to me!

Red Rose Magix The Red Rose Curse is something that I swiped from someone else, actually. I saw it posted on Tumblr and I decided I had to give it a go. I already had someone in mind, so I figured it’d be an awesome experiment. To read the original Red Rose Curse, go here. I recommend you take a look at it before continuing on, otherwise this might not make any sense. So the main ingredients are as follows:

Rose Curse Ingredients

a white rose, jar and red paint

The original curse calls for a white rose, a jar and red paint. However, you could easily spice this jar up with other things- herbs or nails or what have you- to make the jar more inhospitable to the person its aimed towards. For my own jar, I ended up painting the tip of the stem black, which has had an effect on the curse’s progression. In the original curse, its said that you could remove the curse by breaking the jar. So initially, I had considered putting things in the jar that I might remove or reuse later- because I thought the rose would dry up and die. Oh no. Do not put anything in this jar that you want to use later. Just trust me on this. You likely won’t want to re-open this jar later, either. It gets nasty. The rose painted and in its jar- the very first night.

Red Rose Curse Painted

I was sure to cover every surface possible of the rose, even pushing my paintbrush down into the petals. It took a bit, and the rose got a little beat up for it- but I think it was worth it.

And here is a few days later:

And another week later:

Three weeks in:

Current (as of publishing this post) condition:

As you can see, it gets very very nasty looking, and the black sharpie on the stem has created a nice black liquid for the rose to fester in. So the idea of reusing something from this jar is probably not advised.

I suppose the main question you want answered is: “Is this working?” It appears to be. I did a version of this curse on the astral as well, as it is against an astral entity that I’ve placed it against, and it has seemed to make him even more batshit than he was before.

So in short? Yes.

I will continue to post updates about this curse on my Tumblr, which you can see here.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2013 in Devo Magix Series

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Devo Magix: Recent Shenans

  1. Senneferet

    May 8, 2013 at 9:03 am

    These are fantastic, thanks for posting! I might try the top two myself. I can’t think of anyone I’d want to curse right now, but I could always do with more spoons and nice things coming my way.

    Quick n00b question: how do you find out if someone has cursed you? I fell out with a rather nasty individual a few years back. I didn’t know whether she was just a poser but she always hinted that she knew about magix. Anyhoo, shortly after the big fight, my health started to suffer. Six years later and I’m still very ill (as soon as one think gets fixed, something else is diagnosed). It’s always been at the back of my mind that she could have done something.

     
    • von186

      May 8, 2013 at 9:27 am

      My generic response is “When parts of your life fall to shit and don’t get better”. Curses and bad luck – its hard to tell the difference. Usually, if I’m feeling stuck in a certain way, I perform execrations to try and remove any blockages or magix that is being used against me. So while I might not know if its a curse, or something else- at least it seems to help remove the issue all the same 🙂

       
      • Senneferet

        May 8, 2013 at 11:36 am

        Thank you very much 🙂

         
  2. Rachel Izabella

    May 8, 2013 at 9:28 am

    These are all excellent magics. I especially like the Red Rose Curse, but for aesthetic reasons. I do sigil work all the time and this post will help me out on an extended working I’m in the midst of. —Also your Magix series is, as here, invariably excellent. Keep up the good (and bad) work!

     
  3. Ekunyi

    May 8, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    Thanks for sharing such detailed documentaries of these three magics. The first two really just seem quite lovely. (Spoon magic is a *brilliant* idea by the way!)

    Also, the longer I look at the images from the red rose curse, the more it’s hitting me in a particularly visceral fashion. Powerful stuff there.

     
  4. khenneferitw

    May 8, 2013 at 4:43 pm

    May I just say that the spoon magic is an excellent idea? I almost want to steal it.

    I’ve loved watching the Rose curse progress. I sure hope the victim feels the way the rose looks.

     

Leave a comment