RSS

When One Door Closes…

05 Jan

I think it’s pretty obvious that I have fallen off of the wagon this year. I don’t even know if I could call it falling off the wagon, as it feels more like falling off the wagon and log rolling down the hill next to the wagon and into the bottom of the canyon that lies below. And then I fell into the river at the bottom of the canyon, and floated three states over.

I’m at that level of falling off the wagon.

As with most fallow times, I quit doing a lot of my work for the gods. I haven’t really done any work or rites since Wep Ronpet, and I’ve even gotten bad about opening my shrine so that I can at least look at the gods (and so the gods can look upon my wreck of a life house in return.) Over the course of the year, I’ve done less and less in regards to religious stuff.

So imagine my surprise when couple of weeks ago I got the urge to give an offering. It was an offering of cookies to O, and at first I thought it was more myself being petty at a past slight over cookies and Osiris, and so I ignored it. But the urge didn’t go away, and eventually after a few weeks of ignoring it, I decided to give in.

cookies_osiris

I’m sure many would expect that in this paragraph, I would talk about how I gave these offerings and suddenly felt the love of the gods. That they rushed forward to me and said “finally, you came back, we’ve missed you” or something equally pretty, but it would be a lie. Instead, I laid the offerings out, wafted the incense inside of the shrine, told them about what had been going on with me, gave well-wishes for their current affairs, and stared at the shrine box for a while before moving onto other things. I know this sounds boring, and it is. But it’s also realistic.

If I could sum up 2016 in terms of my Kemeticism, I’d say it was largely uneventful, just like my offerings above. It wasn’t uneventful by choice, but my body decided earlier in the year that it was Not Having Anything, and everything had to be put on hold in the wake of my health deteriorating. I’ve dealt with having spoon shortages in the past, having to muck through weird new health “things” while I held down a job and continued all of my extracurricular activities such as religioning, astral work, writing, etc. But this year was different. This time, my body went headlong straight into the ground and took me along for the ride.

By the time the summer hit my ability to do much of anything was gone. Not even gone like it used to be, where I mentally was ready to do everything but my body or time limits were preventing. Oh no, this is full on gone. Where even trying to construct sentences or read paragraphs of text is challenging. Where there are virtually no ideas in my head to even mull on, let alone the energy to mull upon them. Where trying to do housework is hard. Where trying to do much of anything is proving to be challenging. This is a whole new level of gone for me. This is completely unexplored territory in my life.

At first I tried to fight it. I figured I just needed to will up the nerve like in the past, and that I could push through it. “You can do things, just do them slower!” I’d tell myself. Until I found that just doing meant that I literally could barely function for a few days after the fact. “You can do things, just start the process and the rest will come!” as I try to write, but three paragraphs of barely legible sentences was enough proof to show me that it wasn’t something I could push through so simply like I could in the past. “You can still interact with the community if you just limit how often you go online!” as my eyes continued to glass over at the words on my screen, none of which were actually being processed. Every work around only succeeded in making my situation worse. Eventually, I had to give into the fact that this was my new normal for the time being, and that fighting it was doing me no favors.

They often say that when one door closes, another door opens, but that’s not necessarily true. Sometimes one door closes, and you’re left in a room with nowhere else to go. Sometimes life throws you a sucker punch, and your only option is to lay passed out on the ground for a while.

To put it in a more Kemetic context–sometimes your ma’at is running around smiting isfet all the time. Sometimes your ma’at is doing daily shrine work. Sometimes your ma’at is just surviving. Not everyone can do everything all the time. Sometimes we must retract ourselves from the world around us while we sort things out. Sometimes we need to prioritize meeting our bottom line of survival before we worry about other things. Sometimes a fallow period is very much a part of maintaining balance.

At the end of the day, this post has no real point to it other than to illustrate that “nothing” can happen to any of us. That life can throw a wrench in the works and sometimes we need to step back, and that that is okay. And further, that sometimes you will take a step back towards the gods, towards your religion, towards what you used to do before and not find an immediate reaction, and that that is okay too. A lack of response doesn’t necessarily mean that you messed up. The gods know, too, that fallow times have a place and a purpose. They know that sometimes we truly need a drop-everything-and-do-nothing sort of break.

This post is a reminder to be gentle with yourself when life hits you in the face and sends everything to a grinding halt. It’s a reminder that sometimes we have no choice but to sit down and be patient while we do next to nothing. A reminder that Kemeticism will still be here when you get back to it. That the gods will still be here when you get back to it, even if it’s not immediately apparent.

It’s a reminder that sometimes surviving the day to day is all that we can muster, and that there is no shame in that.

Relevant Posts:

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2017 in Kemeticism

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “When One Door Closes…

  1. Josephine Boone

    January 5, 2017 at 4:49 pm

    Thank you for this. I am currently going through another period of just surviving as best I can also. So I hear you.

     
  2. owanderer

    January 5, 2017 at 8:52 pm

    *nods* my deities have asked me to take another break so I can better sort out my mental illnesses and just relax for awhile.

     
  3. owanderer

    January 5, 2017 at 8:55 pm

    Oops I wasn’t done writing. I have a lot of spirits around and I’m learning To accept that I can’t change that. What I need to change are my reactions, my coping methods, and how I sustain myself as a walker between worlds. Self care is becoming a more and more vital part of my life as I age.

     
  4. Witchlight Dreams

    January 6, 2017 at 4:10 am

    Hi. This post really resonnates inside me. I’m going through one of this period too. Sometimes you don’t have the force to open the next door, you just need to rest, be gentle with yourself and to allow you some time. As long as there is life, there is hope, even if sometimes you don’t see when it will arrive… Good luck

     
  5. cardsandfeather

    January 7, 2017 at 10:16 am

    So. Much. Truth.

     
  6. Sierra

    January 7, 2017 at 10:36 am

    This has been my experience with Them, too. Sometimes it feels so difficult, to accept those fallow times, to even accept the grace with which They grant me the great gift of making it okay to be mortal and not always capable of doing everything 100% all of the time. It’s a lesson I have to learn over and over again, but such a valuable one.

     
  7. Carole Borden

    March 2, 2017 at 4:44 pm

    Thank you so much for your words of inspiration, as I see them. I am at the same place, only it seems to be getting worse. I can’t even concentrate on just about everything. I feel as though I am drowning… I sometimes feel that the Gods are making me suffer because I haven’t acknowledged them for so long..Makes me ashamed of myself, which in turn causes more depression & so on & so on & so on.
    Your words are so helpful to me…
    Again Thank You !!!!!

     
  8. Sabrina D Owens

    March 6, 2017 at 9:10 am

    Been going through this for a few months…it’s incredibly frustrating.

     

Leave a Reply

 
