RSS

The Mysteries: The Process, Pt1

08 Feb

“If you’re going to send a fool to do it, you might as well do it yourself.”

That is what my grandmother always told me. Usually, in these cases, I was the fool and she was the poor schmuck who had to fix whatever I had “broken”. When it came to the Mysteries this year, I don’t know if I was the fool, the fool replacing a fool, or the right person for the job- but I was the person selected nonetheless. My feelings regarding the Mysteries and the work they entailed were very mixed- in some ways I desperately wanted to help the person that sat across from me in the sand of the Duat, and in other ways, I felt so entirely out of my depth I was sure that I would only succeed in making the situation worse.

And I’m still not sure whether I did a good job or only made it worse.

This is only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to what happened during the 2013 Mysteries. To start off with, I don’t think I expected the Mysteries to end up as they did. I mean, you can only expect so much when the word “mystery” is in the name, but even then- what ended up happening was completely different from what I was told would happen and from what I had expected.

And I think it’s because of that that I am having so many problems with writing my Mysteries posts.

Back in November, when I approached O at the river, I was in the mindset of “I’m going to actually do some in-depth work with my deity this year. I’m finally going to sit down and work with him for a month straight so that I can learn what he is like and what this process of death is about”. At least, I think that’s what I wanted.

And when I went to him, I expected that he would help me work through my anger and move to a more stable place emotionally. When I got thrown into the Duat, I expected that I would go on a journey with the person who was with me. That we’d both go and travel to Osiris’ khat within Rosetjau. That we’d go through a rebirth process and maybe learn something about each other or our “purposes” along the way. Secretly, I hoped he would become my vomit reader, because I needed one. Or that at the very least, I’d make good what I told him I would do for him a year prior- and at least ensure that he was healed so that he could move forward without a million pounds of baggage hanging on his shoulders.

But that’s not how any of it happened. And because everything ended up so wonky, I still don’t know what on earth is going on, or why I was even sent on this adventure.

So instead of a big moral-ridden post about how the Mysteries changed my life for the better, let’s talk about how confusing they were.

via flickr

The Road There.

The first phase of my adventure lasted from the New Moon to the Full Moon and it involved trekking through a series of terrains with another person. When we were left in the Duat, both of us had injuries to our bodies, and we had both been stripped of 90% of our magix. Everything we did required significant amounts of energy, and we spent a lot of time smoking and laughing as not to cry.

It’s my theory that the wounds were two-fold. First off, they were a literal reminder of the wounds I and my partner had existing within us. He and I had a lot of baggage to sort through. We had had a year full of drama and backstabbing and our relationship had been tumultuous at best and downright deadly at worst. As we were forced to rely on one another to survive our trip, our wounds would open up, drain out, and slowly heal. As our bodies recovered, our relationship recovered.

Second, I believe the wounds were there to force us to take our time. We weren’t able to cover miles in a day. We had to move slowly because of our bodies. We also had to rely on one another because we were not self-sufficient in our physical abilities. It allowed forced us to each be vulnerable in one another’s presence- which feeds back into my paragraph above.

So we walked. And we walked some more. We found a netjeri who sorta helped us along- pulling our sled along behind him for a bit. We walked when we couldn’t do that anymore. We ran into Ra. We got rerouted to who knows where. We saw snakes and random entities that I have no clue what they were. We walked some more.

That was all the first two weeks consisted of. Walking and moving forward while we smoked and cried and talked about whatever came to mind. By the time we reached the end of the first leg, we had found ourselves at some outcropping of rocks that looked to have a type of cave to them that led downwards. We camped there while we waited for the ability to enter inside.

Moving Underground

On the night of the full moon I noticed that my body was acting up. The energy lines that course through my limbs were lit up and there was a large energetic marker by the rocks outside. As the evening drew on, a small group of people gathered outside of these rocks. A few women carried baskets of offerings and flowers. Another man had scrolls, and another man held a sistrum.

They were all happy to be there except for the man with the scrolls who looked like he was over everything.

I wished I shared their enthusiasm. By that point I had been run ragged. My body was still aching and I had a huge welt on my forehead (I joked that it was payback for all of my months of claiming to wear the Atef). I had been away from my family for nearly a month at that point and I was over the whole thing. But hey, at least they were nice and allowed us to enter into the depths below with them.

My partner and I traveled down into the darkness. A series of single-file stairs led us hundreds of feet down into nothingness. We stopped at a gate/pylon where the group of people performed some amount of rites. 30 minutes or so later, the doors opened and we all slowly moved inside. However, once my partner and I crossed the threshold, we found that we were all by ourselves again and our bodies were healed. Our clothing shifted and the other people we had come down here with were completely gone.

We were on our own.

It seemed like we were in a smaller hallway now. The ground continued to drop slowly and there were reliefs around us as well. Honestly, it reminded me of a tomb. We followed the path that lay before us until we hit another entity guarding a door. It was the only way forward- so we spoke the right words to gain entrance to whatever lay beyond.

All of our work was supposed to culminate to this, right? Surely all of the answers would lay on the other side and things would begin to make more sense, right?

Continued in part 2.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “The Mysteries: The Process, Pt1

  1. Aubs Tea

    February 8, 2014 at 4:37 pm

    That entrance sounds like how I found my soul palace. I don’t think it’s the same entrance point because how lame would it be for that place to have one entry way?

     
    • von186

      February 8, 2014 at 4:38 pm

      Maybe the Egyptians like to hide everything under craggy rocks in the ground… idk D:

       
      • Aubs Tea

        February 8, 2014 at 4:44 pm

        That makes sense, though. They’ve been doing it since predynastic era. I think they just like forcing something permanent over the ever changing sand dunes.

         
      • Aubs Tea

        February 11, 2014 at 5:17 am

        Probably. And they chose all the same-looking rocks so later generations would be confused and freaked out.

         
      • von186

        February 11, 2014 at 8:35 am

        Exactly XDD ITS ALL PART OF THE PLAN.

         
  2. shezep

    February 8, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    ” Or that at the very least, I’d make good what I told him I would do for him a year prior- and at least ensure that he was healed so that he could move forward without a million pounds of baggage hanging on his shoulders.”

    This is what I’m trying to do for Heru-sa. It sounds completely, well, crackish, so I’m glad to hear of someone else trying something similar.The king and the land are one, so what happens to the king when the land goes kaput? As a disclaimer, I’ll call it a minor aspect and say that the rest of him is probably fine.

     
    • von186

      February 8, 2014 at 8:36 pm

      Mmmmmm that honestly reminds me of something O was telling me after I got done with this process- was that the land of the Duat needs healing itself. That he was hoping I was gonna be able to help with that.
      >.> And I went “lol I’m completely wrong, this doesn’t happen and can’t happen and omg my discernment is completely off.”
      But now you say that.
      Sus man. Too fucking sus.

       
  3. khenneferitw

    February 17, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    When you say “partner,” are you referring to your seen world SO, one of your Man Pile folks, or someone completely different?

     
    • von186

      February 18, 2014 at 9:16 am

      This is an astral man. I’m not sure if he’s full on man pile level or not. But he is an astral/non-physical entity/person.

       
      • khenneferitw

        February 18, 2014 at 9:50 am

        Alright, thanks! I was trying to figure out who was being talked about, all layers of confused. English needs more words.

         
      • von186

        February 18, 2014 at 9:54 am

        It’s alright, I know it gets confusing. I always try to refer to my physical partner as my SO for clarification purposes. But I have so many menz in my house- it can be challenging to keep them all straight. Esp since I don’t release a lot of information on them for safety reasons.

         

Leave a Reply

 
