RSS

Every Day is a Day to Begin Again

31 Dec

I wasn’t going to write about 2013.

I’ve learned over the years that January first is just a day for me- a day like every other day. I don’t bother to write about the year prior because my practice seems to be a series of deaths and rebirths, and I am regularly looking back at the past week/month/year as a means to gain perspective on my situation and myself. So reflecting over the last year just because the calendar says that things are starting over doesn’t really work for me. Not to mention that my new year will likely occur on January 4th (ironic choice in date- death and completion all at once).

But like I said- I decided I would not write about 2013, instead I’m deciding to write about 2014.

In Kemeticism, we have something called “Zep Tepi”. It’s roughly translated as “the first time”, and its sometimes called “the time before time”. It’s essentially the very moment when everything sprang forth into being. According to the Egyptians, Zep Tepi was the time par excellence that we are all striving to embody, because Zep Tepi was that moment when everything was in complete ma’at (balance).

And New Years is kinda like a Zep Tepi. It’s the moment when the calendar switches and everything resets for the upcoming year (ideally). It’s a time when your slate is cleaned and you can effectively start anew.

However, there is more than just January first for New Years. There is Lunar New Year, Kemetic New Year, Islamic New Year, Witch’s New Year, and probably others that I don’t even realize exist.

There is also January 2nd and 3rd. There is March 15th and June 9th. And September 23rd and October 16th.

Every day is a Zep Tepi. Every day is a day to start over.

So as you move forward into the New Year and set new goals and aims for yourself remember that each day is a New Day. Each day is a day that you can begin anew. So is each breath and each moment if you want it to be. Don’t be hard on yourself if you fail a few times- each failure is a chance to start again, and to do it even better than the last time. Remember that you can start over at any time you choose, at any moment you choose. And that no one can stop you from it. Zep Tepi and the idea of newness and rebirth exists all year long and can occur whenever we need it to.

Be kinder to yourself in 2014 as you reach for your goals.

And may all of the success you desire be yours.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2013 in Kemeticism, Rambles

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Every Day is a Day to Begin Again

  1. dispatchesfromasgard

    December 31, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    Bravo! Thank you. Exactly what I needed to read this evening.

     
  2. briarrose44

    December 31, 2013 at 6:21 pm

    Thank you, I needed to read this.

     
  3. prairiesandpyramids

    December 31, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    Brilliant post! So true as well, kind of takes the pressure off for any ‘resolutions’ folks might be thinking of, including myself. I’m all for pacing oneself though 🙂

     
  4. teastainedcaptain

    January 5, 2014 at 2:17 pm

    Just what I needed to hear. Thank you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
