RSS

Devo Magix: Ninja Magix

20 Aug

Almost everyone that I know has spent at least some time living with people who don’t appreciate or understand any religious practices outside of Christianity. And with today’s economy being what it is, it’s more and more common that many of us have to rely upon others for financial assistance and living arrangements. However, just because you moved back in with your parents doesn’t mean that things quit happening, and you can just turn off all of your religious practices or that spiritual crises can’t still happen. It’s not like some angry spirit gives a care about where you’re living, or the fact that you can’t burn incense while in your parent’s house.

So what is one to do?

The short answer is to get creative! There are many ways that you can protect yourself and perform simple forms of magix while living under someone’s roof. To really grok ninja magix, you will need to really get and understand the core concepts of magix- what makes something work or tick, so that you can deconstruct it to it’s most basic components. You then take these components and alter them so that they can be done discreetly.

To better illustrate my point, let’s take a look at a few examples of magix that are right out in the open for everyone to see.

Take a look at this wall hanging. It doesn’t look like anything special. I got this coin from my therapist actually. When she moved offices, she let a lot of her clients take stuff home that she no longer needed. I thought nothing of the coin- it fit in with her Asian decor and it all made sense to me. But then I got home, and I took a look at the back of it, and this is what I found:

That, my friends, is magix. She might not call it magix, but that’s what it is. It’s financial magix to be more specific. Take a look around the home you’re in- are there things on the wall? Could there be things on the wall that you could hide magix on the back of? Get creative! You don’t always need to write directly on the back of something to make magix work.

For example, I have this IKEA frame by my front door- it contains cards that me and SO have exchanged. Inside each of these cards contains love magix and happy home magix.

Or how about this for magix: I have a hollow cat that my mother gave me many years ago. It looks pretty non-descript, especially considering my crazy-cat-items fetish. However, when you open it up…

You’ll see that it’s filled with stones, shells and dried flowers- as protective magix.

Yet, if I would have never told you about these things, no one would ever be the wiser 🙂 Here are some more examples:

In Feng Shui, it’s good to have bells on the front door, in numbers of 3 or 5 (odds = luckier). These bells help to bring good chi (energy) into the house. When I lived at my mother’s house, I asked to put bells on the door. I didn’t tell her it was for magix, I told her it was because I would like to know when people enter the house- she agreed, as she is paranoid about breaking and entering. She actually still has the bells on her door, despite my moving away.

If you would like to have protection outside of your house, or at your doorway, but don’t want people to see it or know about it, try using your welcome mat as a means to protect. You could easily write sigils or protective seals on the bottom of your mat. If you want to be even more secret, you could write it in a market of the same color as your mat (for my house, that would be black) and then it will be even harder to see.

You could even put protective items or markings on the bottom of furniture pieces (chairs, tables, desks, etc). Even places like a fish tank or toilet tank could contain protective items (no joke, I moved into an apartment once with a cross in the toilet tank).

That’s all good an well for items that are around your house- things you can leave out. But what about things like cleansings? You have to cleanse regularly, and you would stick out quite a bit walking around with a smudge stick- so what do you do?

These types of situations can be difficult, but they can be worked around. Here are some ideas about how to cleanse while out in the open:

  • Light candles in various parts of your house. My mother loved candles. When I needed the energy to move around, I’d light candles all over her house, in every room of her house and let them do the cleansing for me.
  • Go to a sink and wash your hands. Instead of drying your hands off, leave them wet. You can enter any room that needs some extra cleaning, and mark the walls or doors. If you want to really play it up, you could walk around and just smack the walls (the added BAM of hitting the wall gives extra oomph, imo, due to the disturbed sound waves). People might look at you like you’re crazy, but I’ve found that playing up the odd can really throw people for such a loop that they don’t ask. Either way, you can use wet hands and mark things to cleanse.
  • I have “accidentally” dropped salt before- to cleanse an area. You could accidentally drop water, too.
  • If you wanted to cleanse an area with bells, you could wear bells as jewelry and walk around your house. Jewelry in general makes for good protective amulets- to wear on your person, and to use in your home.
  • Wind chimes also make good vibrational cleansers. My family loves wind chimes, so when I was in hiding, I had tons of them out on the porch to help with negativity that always built up in my house.
  • As mentioned in the Cleansings post- plants can cleanse an area. So try putting some potted plants in various areas to stir up the energy. We like to put gnomes in our potted plants, which also is for protection. You could potentially do the same with other decorations.

And lastly, I’d like to cover concepts and ideas that you could even work on your own person. We often forget that our own bodies can be vehicles for magix- but there is a lot of potential for body based magix that is hidden in plain sight. Here are some basic ideas:

  • Knot magic using your hair, jewelry, or shoelaces. Knots can be good for protection, or bringing anything manifest into your life. For every knot or twist in a braid that you create, you would repeat what you want to bring to fruition. If you were to do this over a course of days or weeks, imagine the heka that could build up.
  • Jewelry magix- you could have amulets and sigils hiding in common jewelry.
  • Makeup magix- I know of a couple of people who like to use makeup for rituals. But the same could be done for daily magix as well. Different colors to symbolize different things. Or to speak magix into the makeup itself- and so when you wear it, the properties transfer to you. Alternatively, you could put purifiers (such as natron or oils) into your lotions and wear them to obtain the properties.
  • Permanent or semi-permanent tattooing- now this may or may not be very ‘ninja’ for some people, but you could create magix into henna or a tattoo. When I’ve needed quick protection, I have been known to quickly draw in marker- a sigil on my person (usually my hand). Be careful which markers you use, as some are not recommended for the skin.
  • Nail magix- painting your nails with symbols or colors to bring for protection, wealth, or whatever you want. It’s almost like nail amulets. See some examples here.

These are just a few ideas to get your brain thinking about ways you can perform magix while in plain sight. The more you work with the concepts I’ve laid out in previous magix posts and the better you get with focus and visualizing, the easier it’ll be to perform magix in any setting- with minimal tools. The more you experiment, the easier it will be to get creative in the application of magix to every day items and situations!

Other topics in the Devo Magix Series:

 
21 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2012 in Devo Magix Series

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Devo Magix: Ninja Magix

  1. Nadia

    August 20, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    First of all let me say how marvelous and spectacular this post is. Not only has it given me some ideas, but it has reminded me how magick is so flexible in our lives.

    But riddle me this, Batman: That wall-hanging is (obviously) an enlarged representation of a (Buddhist?) temple coin and the same thing that appeared in a dream encounter with Kali-Ma that I had. In a gift given to me recently, I actually received one of these coins. So, basically, this coin keeps reappearing in my life and I have no idea why. Can you give me any advice on this and preferably some insight on what I should do? .-.

     
    • von186

      August 20, 2012 at 6:27 pm

      I’m glad that you like the post :3

      In regards to the coin- I’m not entirely certain. I actually dream of similar coins all the time- and I’ve been trying to figure out what it means for a long time lol. AFAIK, the coins are Chinese in nature, and I’ve seen them used in Feng Shui for prosperity and good luck, so I might start there. If you think it’s related to Kali-Ma, perhaps you should ask her? I always keep these coins (I have three of them) in places where I want prosperity to come in and chi to flow. Hopefully that’s helpful.

       
      • Nadia

        August 20, 2012 at 7:25 pm

        Sorry for being a noob, but how do I ask her? For now, I keep my coin in a cigar box full of currency from all over the world, nothing special.

         
      • von186

        August 20, 2012 at 7:27 pm

        I think it depends on each deity. Typically, when I need to contact a deity that is new, or that I have little knowledge/relationship with, I will research a bit about them- what they like or dislike, taboos, etc. I then set up a small shrine for them, offer them something that they are fond of, and let them know that I wish to establish communication with them. Usually, that works- sometimes I have to try a few times before I start to get the idea as to what they want. If money is an issue, you could always print a picture of her for focusing ) I find that imagery helps me as I am a visual person). Another potential idea would be to meditate with the coin, wear it, hold it- etc. and see if anything comes to you. Like with anything, it could take a couple of times for something to come through, but I find that usually, if the effort is made to say “here I am, ready to listen”, usually the deity in question will find a way to respond 🙂

         
      • Nadia

        August 20, 2012 at 7:37 pm

        Alright. I did start a shrine thing on my dresser, but I got discouraged because I feel so limited on what I can do or if it’s ‘necessary’. I think connecting with the coin is a good idea; I can’t believe I hadn’t thought of that. xD

         
      • von186

        August 20, 2012 at 7:39 pm

        It’s easy to get discouraged, but try not to 🙂 I think the gods understand what our limitations are, that we aren’t all made of money. So long as you’re trying your best, that’s all that can be asked of at this point. Perhaps if you’re concerned about the shrine, start with just the coin and see where that leads you. You’ll have to let me know if you see or find anything.

         
      • Nadia

        August 20, 2012 at 7:47 pm

        Alright. Beginning with the coin is the most simple and probably best step to take atm. Thanks. (: I’ll let you know what happens. (It would be easier if I actually had a blog, but I’m still stuck at naming it, awah.)

         
      • von186

        August 20, 2012 at 7:48 pm

        I understand that- names are important. And when I create a new blog, I always am worried about what to name it 😛 I hope it goes well with the coin!

         
  2. ladyimbrium

    August 20, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    First off excellent post as always 😉

    I have one peeve with it. You left out the most useful method of all (at leas in my own humble experience) hiding in plain sight. See, if the situation is anything like typical human tendencies there will be flat surfaces here and there just begging for adornment. I know my mother could not STAND a flat surface that had no attractive display on it. Oddly enough, she never noticed that the display I created in my room, in the bathroom (back of the toilet = water shrine. Yeah.) as long as the result was aesthetically pleasing. Some of the symbols we can come up with using just a bit of research are completely innocuous and will never be figured out by most people. So yes, hiding in plain sight is an option that gives me its own perverse kind of pleasure.

    Although the truly hidden pieces are pretty durned cool.

     
    • ladyimbrium

      August 20, 2012 at 10:55 pm

      *rereads and gasps in horror*
      I am typo-guilty! NNOOOOO!!!!!!

      Oh well. Apologies. Remove the awkward “that” and it should be fine.

       
    • von186

      August 21, 2012 at 7:07 am

      I’m glad you like it! 🙂

      I agree with the hiding in plain sight. I mentioned it with body magix, and have also brought it up in my other magix posts. I was just trying not to be too redundant (I feel redundant in a lot of these poses) 😛 It’s amazing what can be displayed as just an ‘interesting item’, and yet never known to be of any importance. My friend used to hide her Egyptian deity statues out that way, claiming to happen to only ‘like’ Egypt- no one was ever the wiser that they were for religious purposes too :3

       
      • ladyimbrium

        August 21, 2012 at 9:26 am

        Clearly my perusal of your archives is incomplete…. I am ashamed.

         
      • von186

        August 21, 2012 at 9:34 am

        No worries :3 I feel like I write an aweful lot, so it’s easy to miss stuff, imo. Plus, I don’t think anyone reads 100% of anything that someone blogs about 😛

         
  3. Aubs Tea

    August 21, 2012 at 11:39 am

    I’m going to started roaming around my house with wet hands and beat on the walls.

    This post, I think, is your best. I love the whole series but this one… there’s just something about it. Also. Now I want to out an ankh in my toilet tank.

     
    • von186

      August 21, 2012 at 11:42 am

      It was very odd finding a cross in there. I’m like…. WUT DO?? WUT DO WITH THIS?? I like this post a lot, but I think you need all of them to really get how this stuff works. It’s really simple to say “oh, just use stuff that you already have!”, but I think it would get lost if I didn’t go more indepth in some of the more traditional methods. Building it up, as it were.

      If you do walk around with wet hands, you’ll have to let me know what kinds of looks you get 😛

       
      • Aubs Tea

        August 21, 2012 at 5:47 pm

        I’m going to do this wet hand business at my mother-in-law’s house down in the basement. There’s lots of nasty sentiment built up over years of divorces and child custody cases and testosterone drive male rages. I can’t wait to see what type of looks I can get when I do that. I know my MIL will probably just be like, “I don’t want to know,” and the FIL will ignore it. (If he ignores it, it doesn’t exist!) As to anyone else… it’s anyone’s guess.

        First trial… when TH comes home this weekend. Let’s see what he says… Muwahahahaha.

         
      • von186

        August 21, 2012 at 5:51 pm

        You’ll have to let me know how that turns out! XD

         
  4. truthlovelife

    August 22, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    Thank you for posting this! I just began my journey and haven’t been able to really dig into these practices. I was very concerned about how I would be able to begin since I’ll be room mating with a couple friends! Now I am inspired and looking much more forward to the transition.

     
    • von186

      August 22, 2012 at 6:43 pm

      I’m glad that you’re looking forward to it more! 🙂 If you have any questions as you go along, feel free to ask.

       
  5. Neffin

    September 13, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    Also, you could pass off statues (especially for use in Kemetic ritual) as “oh, that’s just a cute statue i found in a tag sale! Isn’t it cool?” My altar to Thoth was actually in full view of the front door in my old apartment, and since I collect ancient replica art anyway, nobody said anything!

     

Leave a Reply

 
