RSS

Devo Magix: Barriers, Shields and Warding; Part 1

01 Aug

During my time in Kemetic groups and forums, I’ve realized that very little is ever shared or discussed about basic ‘magix’. No one really talks about cleansing items or your house. Making amulets or sigils are almost never discussed. And there has never been discussion about warding or barrier creation. I personally think this is a shame, as you never know when things could go wrong, or when you might need extra protection in a situation.

To help with this, I have decided that I will create a series of blog posts relating to these exact things. I want to discuss my methods and means to cleanse, create and protect in a more ‘magical’ sense. My methods are by NO MEANS the only methods. They just happen to be what works for me.

If you enjoy this series, or want me to discuss different aspects or topics of a similar nature, please feel free to post your ideas in the comments section. If there is anything that you would like clarification on, don’t be afraid to ask as many questions as you need/would like 🙂
This week, I would like to talk about warding and protection. I saved this topic for last because to become really good at warding, you will likely need to utilize a lot of the other concepts that I’ve discussed prior to this point. Barriers are very free flowing and creative in nature, and there are many things you can use to enhance your warding skills or the strength of your wards. I highly recommend that you learn to layer your wards and that you experiment with different creation methods and techniques so that you can find a style that works best for you.

(as a side note, I will be using the words wards, barriers and shields interchangeably).

Protective magix of this type come in three styles, in my opinion. Those styles are:

  • Warding yourself- just your person
  • Warding a location- your house, a room.
  • Warding an item (or another person)- pick an item, any item.

Each of these styles requires a different approach to the warding process. For example, you will need more energy to create a ward the size of a person than a ward for a small statue; and you will need more energy to ward a house than a room or a single person. Determining what types of needs you have first will help save your trouble later!

So what can I use to create a barrier?

Much like with cleansings, there are ‘ingredients’ you can use to create wards. Here are some basic ideas of what you can use to create wards:

  • Energy around you (such as from the earth, stones, rocks, etc)
  • Energy from within yourself
  • Charged items (such as amulets, sigils and witches bottles)
  • Energy donated from other parties (such as deities, fae, other people, etc)

For the ward to hold up the best, I recommend a mixture of these things.

Determining which of these things you need is a bit tricky. Like with almost everything I do, I feel that knowing what you’re going to be warding is the first step. If you are only protecting yourself, you won’t be able to have a whole lot of charged items on you- so you might need to rely more on your own energy. Conversely, due to the size of a house, perhaps it is best to use some items to help strengthen your wards, as opposed to relying solely on your own energy.

So let’s break down the most common forms of shielding, and discuss the steps I use to create a ward for that particular situation.

Warding yourself (and only yourself):

This is one of the easiest places to start, in my opinion. Because it is only yourself, it is easy to feel the energies and practice without a lot of notice. I also recommend with starting with shielding yourself because it is one of the best ways to protect yourself in any situation. Once you get good enough at creating barriers and shields, you should be able to set up a barrier around yourself in a matter of seconds- in any situation. Mind you, these things take time to build up- but because the capacity for that level of protection is there, this style of warding shouldn’t be overlooked.

Often times, I use a mixture of my own energy and the energy around me for protection. If I’m feeling lazy, I also like to add the benefit of having an amulet on my person to create an extra layer of protection. Whether I need a ton of layers or not really does depend on where I’m going. For an average day, I don’t need a whole lot. If I’m going to be mixing with a bunch of people in a small space, I will probably do all three.

The amulet is a gimme. You can read about amulet creation here.

For pulling my own energy for protection, I will visualize liquid or color pouring out of my person and forming an oval or sphere around myself. Many times, I will have the energy spawn from my wrists and wrap around myself. For pulling energy from the area around me, I visualize the source coming from the floor- usually in a circle around my feet. This energy then makes it’s way up over my head to form a sphere around my person.

Unfortunately, this is difficult to explain- my best advice is to work with it yourself and through practice, it should make more sense or become easier. This is one of those situations where you often have to ‘do’ to get it.

Warding a room or location:

If you have the ability, you should try to cleanse your area first- pushing all of the negativity out, and bringing good stuff in. Barriers don’t do a whole lot of good if you’ve got negativity inside- it just traps it in there with you. You can see my cleansing post for ideas on that.

When warding a room or house for the first time, I always recommend using other items to assist you. I feel it helps the visualization process and helps you to learn where the edges of your barrier are, how they feel, etc. It also helps to clog up any holes. Here is a list of some items that I have used in the past for helping wards:

  • Tarot cards
  • rocks/stones
  • statuary (particularly relating to gods)
  • jewelry
  • oils (you would place a dab on the walls and/or windows)
  • paintings/pictures
  • pre-charged amulets and talismans
  • sigils
  • salt/sand

Much like with cleansings, you can use multiple layers of items if you want. When setting up items, I like to use crosshairs in my rooms- one item on each wall. If you wanted more protection, you could use more items, perhaps doing two cross hairs in a room. Here is an example of a few ways you could set up items in your house for various levels of protection:

As you can see, by the end- things are a little crazy looking. However, if you wanted to get that complex- you can. Creating little spheres of protection for each room, and then leaving items outside to create an even larger area of protection for the whole house.

If I plan on using items to help my warding, I will charge and set them in their proper places before I begin the actual warding process. Here is a generalized step by step format of how I ward a house (a room is just a miniature version of this):

  1. Cleanse your area (if you have time).
  2. Select and set up any items you wish to help with the warding process.
  3. Start at the entrance to the room or house- ask any other entities (deities, etc) that you would like assistance from for their help before you begin.
  4. Move clockwise through the room you are in- touch or focus on each item you are using in the process. Mentally draw a line of energy in your mind connecting all of the walls together. (You can use something like incense or a flame to help draw the energy while you move around the room, if you need help visualizing).
  5. Once you have come full circle in the room- move to the center of the room.
  6. Focus on all of these items creating big sphere around the room you are in. Bring this energy up (along with your own person energy, the earth’s energy, etc) towards the roof (the shape is your choice- pyramid, sphere, square, whatever). You want to see all of this energy touch and become seamless.
  7. Once you have finished this room, you may move to the next room and follow the same process.
  8. If you are enclosing the whole house in a sphere, and not doing the room by room format, I recommend you go to the center of the house and continue with step 6- focusing on the energies in the area coming up over the house, enclosing it, embracing it- and protecting it.

Visuals to hopefully help:

Steps 1-3 for warding a room

Warding an Item:

First off- why would you want to ward an item? Well, there are a couple of reasons, the biggest being you don’t want that item’s joo-joo leaking out into your space. Say someone who doesn’t like you gives you something that has some sort of nasty ickiness in it- and you can’t properly cleanse the item for a couple of days. While you wait for the time to cleanse said item, you could easily ward it up into a safe zone so that it can’t affect the nearby areas.

Warding an item isn’t too difficult. Once of the easiest ways to ward an item is to place it on top of a sigil, or in a box lined with sigils. You can also place other items around it, if you need to, to keep it contained (much like how you would do with a room). I’ve also found that placing items in a black leather or black velvet bag is useful for trapping or containing energies inside. I also like to use black mirrors for this (placing it on top of a black mirror, or in a box lined with black mirrors). If you are good with energy manipulation, you could create a mini-energy sphere (or whatever shape) around the item to keep it locked up.

Or you could use multiple formats of these.

Taking it to the next level:

The best way to make your wards better is to practice. Learning how the energies feel and how they work for you BEFORE shit hits fan is a good thing. That way, when something major happens, you’ll be able to act accordingly. You won’t be scrambling to keep yourself safe.

The second best thing you can do is experiment. Try making your barriers into different shapes such as squares or pyramids. Try making them look like a golf ball. Experiment with color or texture (I know someone who makes theirs like cobweb. Another like water. Another like mirrors). The sky is the limit, and you can create as many layers of energy as you need to keep yourself safe (when I was at my worst, I was making 8 layered spheres- each with their own properties- and an inner sphere attached to me). You’ll never know what works best for you until you try!

Other posts in the ‘Magix’ Series:

 
32 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2012 in Devo Magix Series

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

32 responses to “Devo Magix: Barriers, Shields and Warding; Part 1

  1. Mia

    August 1, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    Makes sense! It’s very helpful.

     
  2. Cin

    August 1, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    Interesting. For myself I ward the openings in a room. So doors, windows, mirrors and vents. I do as you do and head around the house clockwise, working through one room at a time. Then I go back again and see another ward that covers the whole wall, then one on the floor, one on the ceiling etc.

    I’ve never made an item my focus for the ward so that is interesting. For me its just about visualizing it and locking it in place, then going back and doing the other layer over the whole room. 🙂

    As for the symbol I just do a pentacle. For me it is a strong protection symbol and so it works. I use salt water, sometimes I go back over with incense, but as I have allergies I tend to avoid it.

     
    • von186

      August 2, 2012 at 7:07 am

      I decided to start my first post with items to focus on- it’s how I began to learn. I think for people who might not have a lot of experience, having an item to focus on and sorta help do some of the work involved can be useful. When I do my part 2 on this topic, I will be discussing using no items and touching on blocking areas we overlook- windows, mirrors, drains, vents, etc. I was trying not to give too much too quickly 😛 There is just so much to cover on this topic!

       
      • Cin

        August 2, 2012 at 10:47 am

        Thats cool. Like I said I’d never thought of using a focus item and was just sharing my style 🙂 Coolio.

         
  3. ladyimbrium

    August 1, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    Most fascinating. Now, since you invited questions, I have one. I notice that whenever I try to translate the energy I’m working with into a concrete something it loses a significant portion of its power. I have no idea why. Quite literally, my strength is in pure energy and will. It is, unfortunately, difficult to create stable stationary wards in this fashion. I’ve yet to meet anyone who could get past my highly mobile personal shielding (actually, Ares almost certainly could have, but he didn’t. He asked.) but frankly my house wards aren’t wonderful. Without the land spirit’s help there wouldn’t be much there at all. I don’t think it’s my visualization skills- the energy around me does what I want it to. I think there’s a break in the chain between the pure energy and the object or image I’m trying to charge. Any ideas?

     
    • von186

      August 2, 2012 at 7:08 am

      If you don’t mind me asking- what is the process you use to create personal barriers vs. the process you use to create wards for your house?

       
      • ladyimbrium

        August 2, 2012 at 7:57 am

        Personal barriers are something I learned how to do before I knew what I was doing. The best explanation of the process is that the dense mist of energy that surrounds me is malleable and shifts into the shape I need, whether that be some kind of wall or even something spiky and painful to touch. I don’t have a set process or specific image. It’s my energy, I’m tied to it and it reacts right along with my physical defense mechanisms (adrenaline, prep combat stance, etc.) The last (and so far best) house ward I created involved layering that same “solid wall” energy around the house using stones that had volunteered for the job as physical anchors. Somewhere between the energy and the anchor there is a weak link because the other day when I did a “fence check” I could feel weak points already.

         
    • von186

      August 2, 2012 at 8:59 am

      That is interesting. I have a couple of ideas or suggestions that might be helpful. If you want to give them a shot, feel free to- and let me know how it goes.

      It sounds like it could be a few things- either you’re spreading your energy too thin, or you might be trying to tie massive amounts of energy to something that is too weak or small to handle it. I’ve found that I can ward things without ground it to anything other than the structure I’m in itself, or the ground next to the structure- so perhaps trying to create a large ball that is linked to the house itself is an idea.

      You could try linking your energy to the rocks you’re using- and then spin the energy around. That way, it essentially goes from a bunch of strips of energy into one big mass- all of the pieces meld together into something much more solid- and hole free.

      You could also try warding just a room- and see if using the energy on a smaller scale is easier than doing a whole house at once.

      Lastly, you could try to charge up small things, and keep them around to help strengthen weak areas in your wards.

      Any of these ideas sound like they might be useful for helpful? It’s a shame I can’t actually walk over to your place and see what’s going on. It’s always so much simpler to explain or see in person 😛

       
      • ladyimbrium

        August 2, 2012 at 9:10 am

        Good ideas. I think the first thing to try is to change only the scale and attempt to use the pattern on a single room. One variable at a time, after all.

        It would be easier if you could take a look at it, but then you’d see what a mess my house is!

         
  4. Josephine Boone

    August 2, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    As I read this post, I was glancing around my apartment at the various openings in my space. It occurred to me to wonder if anyone wards their internet router or modem in the same way they do windows and doors? How about phone jacks, electrical outlets, and especially televisions/cable boxes?

     
    • von186

      August 2, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      When I had srs bizznazz all up in my stuff- I warded all of those things. Because they were connective. I used to ward my computer, too. I plan on addressing these types of things in Part 2 of this series :3

       
  5. Aubs Tea

    August 5, 2012 at 7:46 am

    Now I want to go around to all the walls in the house and do my simple warding thing.

     
    • von186

      August 5, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      Probably couldn’t hurt.

       
      • Aubs Tea

        August 5, 2012 at 5:19 pm

        I SHALL DO IT.

         
  6. wingedmoongazer

    February 28, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    Very useful – thank you!
    Have you ever found that you need to link a barrier to an object so that it doesn’t continue to draw energy from you? I’ve heard of people asking dieties to supply the energy but I don’t really work with deities.

     
    • von186

      February 28, 2013 at 4:53 pm

      I usually try to make my barriers as stand-alone items that keep their own energy that I will replenish every so often (depending on the situation). I have linked things to stones and items before in order to keep them more stable. When I’m really really nervous, or need extra protection, then I’ll keep the barrier linked directly to me- but I try not to do that too often because I don’t want that extra drain on my energy. :3

       
      • wingedmoongazer

        February 28, 2013 at 5:17 pm

        I had a thought about linking it to the Earth – maybe through stones? (eq. quartz) So that the barrier draws energy from the Earth which has constant supply and is quite stable. Have you had experience with this before?
        I guess it would kind of relate to how you link things to stones – is there a particular way to indicate that you would like the energy drawn from the stone or object as opposed to being drawn from you?

         
      • von186

        February 28, 2013 at 5:46 pm

        I think it’s possible to link to the earth around you. If I were to do that, I’d more or less create “spikes” in the barrier that sink into the ground and pull from the energy that is there.

        I wish I had a more specific response in how I program the energy to pull. A lot of times, I weave it into my intent when I lift the energy up. When I create barriers, I tend to lift energy out of the ground, or myself, or concentrate the energy that’s in the air into something that is concrete and go from there. And when I’m done creating hte barrier, I like to more or less cut and seal the energy into itself. So its almost self contained. If I were to tie it to an item, I would likely place the item in the center of hte barrier (to start with), and pull energy up and out of the item, mix it with my own energy, spread it around into the shapes I need, and then cut off my energy and make sure that the barrier is more or less attached to the stone. Which is hard to explain because its something I Just “do” 😛 For me, a lot of barrier work is heavy in visualization and mental focus. More or less drawing up energy and saying “You will do this”. A lot of my work is very organic, so it’s hard to pin down the specifics on “how”. So hopefully that helps 😛

         
  7. wingedmoongazer

    February 28, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    That does help thank you 🙂 I know it’s hard to convey things like this into text – but yeah, I work a lot like that too so it makes sense to me.
    My fiance and I are moving soon. It’s a long story but basically both of our immediate family need constant reassurance and love – sometimes it’s a bit smothering. So I’m researching ways to make it kind of known that this new house is ours and that we’re the ones who get the love and attention there, no one else.
    As well as protection from strangers, physical and not so physical.

    I also read your post on sigils which I’ve been drawn to lately – that was also helpful. Thank you again! xx

     
  8. Stefen Hudson

    June 26, 2013 at 1:04 am

    I found this post a few months ago while researching wards and barriers, and came back to the whole magix series tonight to see what else I could find.

    As I read the part about items to help mark where your barrier is, I immediately got the idea of using yarn or string. My thought is you could trace out the shape of your barrier with the string and then link your energy to it or link it as you’re tracing. Whether you want to use the string as an anchor or take it down once your energy is in place would be up to you. I think this would also help those who may be blind or visually impaired (like myself) since it would be a tactile marker, especially if they’re not yet adept at sensing energy by touch.

    I also just thought of a neat little thing you could do if you use a string for people who need to practice feeling energy. Basically, close your eyes (unless your eyes don’t work already), and try to feel where your barrier is. Once you think you’ve located it by sensing the energy, touch the area or open your eyes and see if the string is there.

    I’ve never warded an item or room, though I do have a little experience with personal shielding. Since I’ve never had sight and therefore don’t really have the ability to form actual images in my head, I go for tactile visualization. The whole visualization thing held me back for so long until I realize that visualization doesn’t always have to be visual, and like was said earlier, simply commanding the energy works too. Magic/magick/magix is all about the will, after all.

    Now if only barriers could actually push people back like force fields… 🙂

     
    • von186

      June 26, 2013 at 7:59 am

      I definitely think this is a good idea and application. its very similar to thread magix I use astrally- so I think it would work well :3 If you ever give it a try, you’ll have to let me know how it works out!

       
      • Stefen Hudson

        August 23, 2013 at 4:43 pm

        An update on my experimentation with wards:

        So, I have no idea if this was really the work of a ward I tried, but I thought it was interesting anyway even if was a coincidence.

        About two months ago (actually before I first commented on this) I moved out of an apartment in which I lived with my ex girlfriend, although at the time I thought I would be returning. There were several items in a closet, including a desktop computer, that I didn’t want anyone messing with unless they were going to send it here. So, I decided to try something. I figured it wouldn’t do any harm.

        Before I left, I simply drew the best pentagram I could in the air a few inches from the closet door, intending that my items would be warded. Afterwards I simply put it out of my mind and forgot about it. There was no ritual, no intense concentration or visualization, just the drawing of the symbol in the air along with a basic intent for the items to remain safe. I suppose this counts as a sigil ward.

        Fast forward to today. Apparently, my ex girlfriend’s computer was having some issues, so she contacted me over Skype chat and asked if she could use the one in the closet. After making sure that my passwords for my email and such were changed, I gave her the password for the machine itself.

        A few minute later, she messaged me, telling me that she just didn’t feel comfortable using that computer — she turned it on, felt uncomfortable as if using it was an invasion of privacy, and turned it off again. As soon as she said that, I immediately remembered the pentagram from two months ago. This is exactly what a ward is supposed to do, exactly what I intended that one to do.

        It’s entirely possible that she felt uncomfortable on her own, but it’s also possible that what I did actually had some kind of affect. Either way, it was creepy since this was the first sort of ward I’ve tried aside from personal shielding, but it was also pretty awesome because it’s never happened before.

         
      • von186

        August 24, 2013 at 9:24 am

        hahahaha that’s pretty cool. Sometimes the best wards are the simplest, you know?

         
  9. Josephine M

    March 9, 2014 at 9:32 pm

    What do you mean by “shit hits the fan” and “when I was at my worst”, at the end of your blog post? When do you personally use these wards, aside from protecting yourself from the energy around people? Do you do it at that moment, or before interacting with others? Please answer all these questions, as I am learning about wards myself, thanks.

     
    • von186

      March 10, 2014 at 4:46 pm

      “shit hits the fan” is a way of saying “before things go wrong”. “when I was at my worst” is my way of saying “when I was experiencing the most things trying to get into my living space.” or, “when I was having to make the most intricate ward setups”.

      I use them when I need protection of just about any kind, though its usually saved for Unseen situations, spirits and other non-physical entities trying to screw with me. I don’t ward against people very often. I ward before I meet people and at any point in time when it feels like a good idea.

       

Leave a Reply

 
