RSS

Layers

03 Jul

Shortly after I began working with Set, I received a vision from him. It occurred while I was driving on the way to my dead-end internship. And it struck me so hard… I couldn’t get it out of my head until I got it on paper.

And all of you have seen a portion of this vision- as it forms the basis of my avatar in all of my Kemetic accounts. For those who have never seen the whole thing, here it is:

When this originally came to me, I was beginning to explore Set’s role in Osiris’ demise. I was learning about my own rage and anger- and it was reflected in the myth that I was studying. Set getting so jealous of Osiris being the golden child… that he lost his cool one day, and felled his brother. So at the time, I felt that this image was Set taunting Osiris- “Look at me, brother. I have your crook. I have your flail. And you’ll never get them back.” For many years, I believed this to be the full extent of vision- that of forceful victory. That of flaunting the spoils of war.

However, I’ve recently realized that Osiris has been vested in me for a while. One day while considering this, I realized that there was another unexplored angle to this vision I had. Perhaps Set was flaunting to Osiris… because I chose to listen to Set before I chose to hear Osiris. Osiris had been whispering to me for years… YEARS and I never listened (I believed I was picking up signals meant for SO, not myself). Yet Set managed to get my attention in under a month (best I can tell). So instead, Set managed to waltz right in, and take all that Osiris had been attempting to achieve with me.

Both interpretations are likely correct. This vision likely has more than one meaning. And it’s entirely possible (and probable) that this vision has even more meanings that I haven’t discovered yet. And honestly, Kemetic myths work much the same way. There are many forms of the various myths out there… and all of them are correct. Each version of the myth brings it’s own truths to the story. And only in considering all of these angles does the truth beneath it all emerge.

Let’s reconsider the myth I was examining before- Set felling Osiris.

In bringing Osiris into my daily practice, I’ve begun to examine the myth from his side. I’ve begun to view this tragic tale through the lens of agriculture, cycles and necessity. It became less about anger and more about love and the unchanging cycles of life. Does this invalidate my original ideas about anger and rage? Not necessarily. At the time, the myth was serving as a tool to help me understand my own emotions. Set seemingly wanted to direct me down that path to better balance myself. And for all we know, there was some anger involved on Set’s side- I know I would be angry that I had to fell my brother. Now, at my current state, this myth is best served to teach me about mourning, loss, and healing after a loss.

And in the future, it’s entirely likely that I’ll read some other angle of this myth, and I’ll have something else to learn from it. Our myths are built from layers and layers of symbolism. Our myths can deliver complex ideas on one reading… and then deliver a completely different (and possibly contradictory) meaning the next time you read it. I personally find this to be an awesome aspect of Kemeticism- that one story can have many ideas, themes and possibilities- all of which have something to teach and can be relevant to each of us in different ways at different points in our lives.

How often do you examine the myths of your path for multiple meanings? Have you experienced layers of symbolism in the myths of your tradition?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2012 in Kemeticism

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Layers

  1. larissaclause

    July 3, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    “How often do you examine the myths of your path for multiple meanings? Have you experienced layers of symbolism in the myths of your tradition?” YES. I keep detailed journals of all my visions/experiences/mythos because I can always go back and read it in an entirely new light and be completely dumbfounded by the complexity of the lesson/display.

    I couldn’t agree more. 🙂

     
  2. Soli

    July 4, 2012 at 10:48 am

    See, this is why mythology is a passion for me, and why I feel very very irritated when people seem to (willfully) forget that EVERY mythic story has multiple meanings, as well as versions. Mythology is seldom so reductionist as being “this one story means this thing and ONLY this thing.” We, hearing and potentially experiencing some level of these myths, also bring our own life experiences to the understanding. We’ll focus on different aspects or details which speak to us. Then they unfold and bloom into something much bigger.

     
  3. Josephine Boone

    July 4, 2012 at 11:18 am

    I am always finding new things to think about in the old stories.

     
  4. thefirstdark

    July 4, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    Reblogged this on The Darkness in the Light.

     
  5. Neferet

    July 6, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    “How often do you examine the myths of your path for multiple meanings?” Very often. Before I became a Hemet Aset, Set had a very strong hold over me. I was in a bad place–after all, my father had just died, been saved by medical workers, and been hospitalized for three months. I had to balance constant hospital visits with college and two jobs. Aset’s sudden influence in my life made my entire world look better.
    I examine her stories very often. There are a plethora of myths regarding my goddess, and I am always discovering new ways to interpret the myths. I learn about these interpretations through my daily life, actually. When I learn a lesson on my own, I question if that was a lesson meant to be expressed through (for example) Isis and the Seven Scorpions. Considering that possibility often opens the door to more lessons to be learned. There are various ways to interpret the ancient myths.
    Your posts are always so interesting and thought provoking. Keep them coming!
    Seneb-ti!

     
  6. Mia

    July 10, 2012 at 8:15 am

    I have yet to read Egyptian myths but I have read some Celtic and Greek ones. I’m Irish so I grew up reading them, since my dad grew up there, my mom grew up in the USA so I’m irish a
    American I guess. Anyway, I’d love to read Egyptian myths and get to know the gods and goddess better. Currently I’m working with Bast, even though in also worship Ma’at and Thoth. Is there anyway to accomplish all of this?

     
    • von186

      July 10, 2012 at 8:29 am

      For learning about gods, there is Henadology ( http://henadology.wordpress.com/theology/netjeru/ ). There are also forums out there with practicing Kemetics who usually like to discuss differences btwn gods.. etc. Forums are really a great way to learn about Kemetic practices in this day and age.

      For mythology.. that’s harder to come by. There are websites that have various myths, but you run the possibility of reading inaccurate myths. Most of the mythology for this pantheon has to be gleaned from various texts and then pieced together to create the whole story. There are quite a few books out there on the topic, but I’m not sure what type of budget you are looking for. Many forums also discuss the different myths out there, and how they effect the gods that are worshiped, so that could be another place to look as well.

       
      • Mia

        July 10, 2012 at 8:41 am

        thanks!

         

Leave a Reply

 
