RSS

Unveiling

27 Dec

The month finally came to an end. After so many nights keeping O’s statue hidden, I was finally able to unveil him. To bring him out of hiding and back into the light. Words can’t express how happy I am to have him uncovered again. To be able to look at him and not see him all wrapped up in his blue cloth. And his statue feels different, too. When I place my hands on both statues, O’s seems to be teaming with energy. It’s pretty crazy. So who knows, maybe wrapping the statue rejuvenates it as well. Either way, I’m happy to have him back again.

Coinciding with his unveiling is the hanging of my new shrine cabinet. Many many moons ago, Set sent me out to find a shrine cabinet for him (later to become ‘them’). He wanted something that was simple, but made of real wood. He was absolutely stubborn about the wood. No veneer for him! The more I sat with him, the more an image appeared in my mind as to what he wanted, and I slowly set out to find something that fit the bill. It only took me 6 months, but I finally found something that suited what I needed. The case is made of teak wood and is probably a foot tall. I love how simple it is. I also like the smoothness of the wood.

Originally, the box was intended to be a jewelry box. There were hooks hanging on the inside for necklaces. There were boxes hanging on the inside of the doors that you could put your trinkets in. I didn’t need either of these, so we set out to strip/gut the insides. From there, we treated the wood. Giving it nourishment to help protect the wood and bring out it’s nature colors/beauty. Afterwards, I left the box to sit while I waited for the Mysteries to end. I treated it with incense and left it at that. Now that O has been let out of his wrappings, I feel comfortable using the box.

I’m slowly starting to rebuild my practice. I’ve started off simply. Right now I’m only giving the ka embrace, swapping out beverages every morning and changing up their offerings. I figure that as I move further along, I’ll start fleshing out my rituals. But for now, I feel it’s best to start simply. The shrine still isn’t complete. I’ll update as I add more things to it.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2011 in Kemeticism

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Unveiling

  1. firaza

    December 27, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    The cabinet and statues are gorgeous! And are those little pastries?

     
    • von186

      December 27, 2011 at 6:35 pm

      Yup, they’re pastries. They’re made by Re-ment. They make miniature foods. :3

       
  2. Aubs Tea

    December 27, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    I really like the cake.

    That cabinet is beautiful. You did a fantastic job! It reminds me of my old desires for a shrine, similarly executed to the one you have.

    Building a practice can take all the time in the world. πŸ™‚

     
    • von186

      December 27, 2011 at 7:49 pm

      I ❀ the cakes. In fact, I really like all of the stuff Re-ment makes. It's very possible that my shrine food will come exclusively from them :3

       
      • Aubs Tea

        December 27, 2011 at 8:28 pm

        I’m going to have to look at Re-ment now.

         
    • von186

      December 28, 2011 at 7:35 am

      Best place to look for them would be online, or in an Asian store (Japanese to be specific). If you look and can’t find any, I can always mail you some from my local shop lol.

       
  3. Shefyt

    December 27, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Love the shrine cabinet! There’s something about that style of outward-opening double doors that always seems so “right” to me. And the wood is really lovely.

    Simple is definitely a good way to start. πŸ™‚

     
    • von186

      December 27, 2011 at 7:49 pm

      I tried really hard to find double doors like that. It felt ‘right’ to me, too.

       
  4. Sereyn Sylvertri

    December 28, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Wow!! Looks lovely πŸ˜€ The cabinet looks perfect!

     
  5. Setken

    January 2, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    I like your Shrine.

    Interestingly, just sketched out my separate Shrine for Set last night. Have been aware that one was required since moving to my new pad 6 weeks ago.

     
    • von186

      January 3, 2012 at 9:34 am

      I saw not too long ago that you modified your shrine- adding red lights to the room and setting up some type of table…? Is that the same thing?

      You say separate- was Set sharing space with someone else before?

       
      • Setken

        January 3, 2012 at 3:22 pm

        Yes that is my the Shrine Room in my new home.

        Yes – all the Netjeru are in one mult storey “apartment” right now. Set gets His own Shrine soon.

         
    • von186

      January 3, 2012 at 3:25 pm

      Aah, that makes sense. I’ve had situations like that before- where all the gods are lumped into one shelf or area. Set usually wants to be in his own ‘special’ area, though :3

       
  6. Richard Reidy

    January 18, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    Congratulations on creating a very beautiful shrine for Setekh and Ausir. This reminds me of the
    Kom Ombo temple where the two Netjeru Heru and Sebek shared one temple structure. Thank yoju
    for sharing this!

     
    • von186

      January 18, 2012 at 7:54 pm

      I’m glad you like it πŸ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
