RSS

FK Journal: Mystery

14 Nov

This is a journal entry relating to an FK article which can be found here.

This article was really short. Like, crazy short. So it doesn’t leave a lot for me to write on, I’m afraid. Out of the article, this paragraph stands out the most:

We have stripped the mystical out of our world, leaving everything just the physical. We see the trees, but we don’t see them with spirits anymore. And while populating the world with many spirits all out to hurt us (a common view in old mythology) isn’t necessarily a bad thing to leave behind, removing all the spirit from our lives isn’t good either.

I would agree that the mystical has been stripped out of our world. To mirror a video I saw recently, all of our right brain has been stripped out. Leaving an empty hollow shell. It’s sad. I think that’s part of why Shinto brings me such joy- it still has life in it. There are spirits around us. There is still mystery in our world.

Questions: 

How do you see the mystery in life around you?

Mystery is everywhere. There is so much power in the world around us. So much we can’t explain- it’s crazy. And it can really boggle the mind when you sit and think about it. We like to think that we are awesome. That we are like gods- yet with all of our modern marvels, there is so much that we can’t recreate or explain. It’s very humbling.

What in your life is mystery? Do you celebrate it or try to avoid it?

Everything has mystery. I may not always acknowledge it or see it- but I know there is mystery in all that I am, do and experience. I try to celebrate it. It’s part of what makes life interesting and awesome. Life is like some gigantic riddle that we’re all stuck in.

Imagine life without mystery. Is it better or worse than life with it?

It would be boring. It would be simpler (a lot less pondering, a lot less “what if”), but I think it would be boring. I’m not sure if that is better or worse. I imagine it depends on what you like in life. When I’m beat down and frustrated, it probably would be easier to have no mystery. But I’m not really one for ‘easier’.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2011 in FK Journal, Flame Keeping

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “FK Journal: Mystery

  1. SatSekhem

    November 14, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    This whole topic seems strangely reminiscent of what we’re discussing in the TWS SIG.

     
    • von186

      November 14, 2011 at 5:43 pm

      I have seen that SIG on my updated threads list, but I know nothing of what it’s about. What is it about?

       
      • SatSekhem

        November 14, 2011 at 5:46 pm

        The SIG is following the teachings in [i]The Twelve Wild Swans[/i] by Starhawk. The book uses the ‘fairy tale’ about the Swan Brothers to help teach. It’s a book about the three basic paths, as she sees them: the elements path, the inner path, and the outer path. You use the book as a form of guide and/or work book to help you.

        The elements path (or what I’m currently working with) seems focused entirely on the basics of magic: the first chapter has a large section on creating sacred space.

         
      • von186

        November 14, 2011 at 5:48 pm

        Is the book easy to get… cheap… expensive? I may have to dig a bit more to see what is going on. All these groups I”m interested in require books lol.

         
      • SatSekhem

        November 14, 2011 at 6:13 pm

        The book is $13.98 at Amazon, plus shipping. Soooo worth it.

         

Leave a Reply

 
